Table of Contents
Once you are finished grading submissions, the Review Grades page gives you an overview of what was graded and allows you to publish grades, email students, and export evaluations & grades.
At the top of the page, you can see a histogram and some basic statistics that give you an overview of how your students did on the assignment. The “Time” column in the table below shows you the time when the student submitted to the assignment (for student-uploaded assignments) or when the instructor uploaded the student’s submission (for instructor-uploaded assignments). If your uploaded roster had separate columns for first and last names, you can alphabetize students by last name by using the Swap button at the top of the name column.
If you click on a student’s name, you can view that student’s graded exam. This is mostly the same view that the student will see once you publish grades, with the possible exception of hidden rubric items (see the section “Hide rubric items” below). To regrade a question, click on the question name and click Grade in the bottom action bar.
If you would like to download the student’s submissions, you can click on Download at the bottom of the page and select whether you would like to download the original or graded submission. If you download the graded submission, the rubric will appear on the first page of the downloaded PDF.
Publish and notify students
In order for students to be able to see their grades via Gradescope, grades must be “Published”. You can do so by clicking Publish Grades. You can check whether or not grades have been published by looking at the top right indicator. It will say “Grades Published” in blue if grades are published, or “Grades Not Published” in grey if they are not. You can also unpublish grades by clicking on Unpublish Grades.
Publishing grades does allow students to see their graded work, but simply publishing grades won’t notify students. If you wish to send an email to the students who submitted work, you can notify them by clicking Compose Email to Students and filling out the form. Every time you compose an email, a new email notification will be sent out to all students who have submissions for the assignment. Students with no submission or with partially graded submissions will not be able to view their scores. By default, the email notification contains some basic assignment statistics, but you may choose to remove these if you’d like.
Once your grades are published, you can see which students have viewed their grades by looking at the “Viewed?” column on the Review Grades page. If the eye icon is green, the student has viewed his or her exam. Note that students will never be able to see the name of the person who graded their submission.
Hide rubric items
By default, all rubric items are shown to students. We believe this helps students learn from their mistakes and assures them that grading was fair and accurate.
However, in some cases it may be preferable to hide all or part of the rubric from students. You can change this from the Assignment Settings page. There are three options for hiding rubric items:
- Show all rubric items
- Hide all rubric items
- Show only applied rubric items. In this mode, students will see only the rubric items which were applied to their submission for negative-scoring style questions. However, for positive-scoring questions, students will still see unapplied items, so that they can understand why they didn’t receive full credit.
Note that no matter which option is selected, students will always see submission-specific comments and point adjustments. Also note that, as the instructor, you will always see all rubric items when you view a student’s submission, even if you’ve opted to show students only applied rubric items or to hide rubric items from students. You can see the students’ view of the rubric by exporting submissions (click Export Submissions in the bottom action bar).